The Rising

Can’t see nothin’ in front of me
Can’t see nothin’ coming up behind
I make my way through this darkness
I can’t feel nothing but this chain that binds me
Lost track of how far I’ve gone
How far I’ve gone, how high I’ve climbed
On my back’s a sixty pound stone
On my shoulder a half mile line

Sky of blackness and sorrow (a dream of life)
Sky of love, sky of tears (a dream of life)
Sky of glory and sadness (a dream of life)
Sky of mercy, sky of fear (a dream of life)
Sky of memory and shadow (a dream of life)
Your burnin’ wind fills my arms tonight
Sky of longing and emptiness (a dream of life)
Sky of fullness, sky of blessed life (a dream of life)

Words from Bruce Springsteen’s – “The Rising” echo through my head as I put these thoughts down, because that is almost exactly how I feel, after making a journey with Shlok since its inception on July 14th, 2012. Doing the work we are doing is a source of happiness, confidence and now has even begun giving me the goosebumps. Goosebumps because, I feel there is a rising somewhere from deep within, inexplicable,ineffable and a feeling you can understand only if you were a part of this journey. Its a feeling that moves you, shakes you, breaks you and something I cant justify using mere words. 

Thats how I feel today, after volunteering with SHLOK and being a part of a wonderful family that has grown. Grown from strength to strength in terms of wonderful and dedicated volunteers joining in every week.  I strongly beleive the cause is above everything else. A strong belief in the cause is what is taking us forward, giving us strength and helping us make a difference.

So much so that we even have volunteers joining us from as far as 25 kms away, volunteers who work until 3am on a saturday, but still turn up at 9am to teach…Volunteers from the young and old , who put everything else aside for the 2 something hours they spend teaching every weekend.

As we are on the threshold of yet another eagerly awaited weekend, come join us in our Books and Stationery donation drive planned for classes 3 and 4. So, come on up for the rising!

Just a thought ot ponder upon – There are 45000 such schools across Karnataka alone(as per Akshara foundation), and the difference we are making is smaller than a drop in the ocean.

We would love to hear from you, let us know, alternatively you can join our facebook page @: https://www.facebook.com/shlokfoundation

