Learn more than what you teach

Brimming with joy and  responding to the call  from within ,  I went to the government school at Nagwara   along with Ashutosh from Shlok to  teach lessons in english but ended up learning important lessons of life .

Image

Soon as I entered , the children, who  had just finished  their mid day meal ,were  waiting in the  queue ,patiently awaiting their turn to wash their used  plates. Even while washing the plates  or during their wait they seemed cheerful and enthusiastic and greeted us with  a warm smile  .Though I don’t wash my  plates even now  , I have at least learnt to express silently a deep sense of gratitude for the maid servant who washes my used plates everyday. Though I dont  break any queues,   I am trying to improve the art of cultivating a cheerful attitude while waiting. Hope I will get there.

Coming back to school – Just after the meal, the kids had so much energy  that both Ashu and I tried to channelize by trying to make their  learning as much fun as we could . We  made  them play  team games and even during this play the kids did not cheat or try to be unreasonable to the other team. I learnt how important it is to exhibit the attitude of true sportsmanship while doing anything in life or to treat life itself as just another game.

Thereafter , When those kids read stories from their textbooks as loudly as they could ,  how much I realized  that if we as adults try to incorporate the moral of  those stories in our life , how beautiful can our world be. How I wish I were like these beautiful children . English or computer skills appear so inferior to some of these skills  that children naturally exhibit .  I teach them english  or computers and they teach me life. Not a bad deal at all. Thank you shlok .

If you liked this post, you can read about Ms.Vasanti’s first few days at Shlok on https://shlokorg.wordpress.com/2013/10/11/to-give-pride-and-dignity-to-kids/

– Sumukh Guruprasad

2 thoughts on “Learn more than what you teach

  1. Pingback: In learning you will teach and in teaching you will learn | shlokorg

  2. Pingback: Sudhindra’s first day with SHLOK | shlokorg

We would love to hear from you, let us know, alternatively you can join our facebook page @: https://www.facebook.com/shlokfoundation

